Skip to main content

IPL Orange Cap 2022 » Complete List Of IPL Top Scorers

IPL Orange Cap 2022

1Jos ButtlerRR1786311657.53579149.05448345
2KL RahulLSG15616103*51.33455135.38244530
3Q de KockLSG15508140*36.28341148.97134723
4Hardik PandyaGT1548787*44.27371131.26044912
5Shubman GillGT164839634.5365132.32045111
6David MillerGT1648194*68.71337142.72023223
7F du PlessisRCB164689631.2367127.52034913
8Shikhar DhawanPBKS1446088*38.33375122.66034712
9Sanju SamsonRR174585528.62312146.79024326
10Deepak HoodaLSG154515932.21330136.66043618

*Last Updated on 29th May 2022 after RR vs GT Final Match (IPL 2022)

IPL Orange Cap 2021 List

2Faf du Plessis1663395*45.21458138.2066023
3KL Rahul1362698*62.6451138.8064830
4Shikhar Dhawan165879239.13471124.62036316
5Glenn Maxwell155137842.75356144.1064821
6Sanju Samson1448411940.33354136.72124517
7Prithvi Shaw154798231.93301159.13045618
8Shubman Gill174785728.11402118.9035012
9Mayank Agarwal1244199*40.09314140.44044218
10Rishabh Pant1641958*34.91326128.52034210

*Last Updated After IPL 2021

IPL Orange Cap Trivia

  • Shaun Marsh (616 runs in 11 matches in 2008) was the first winner of the orange cap in IPL.
  • Virat Kohli holds the record for most runs scored in a single IPL season (973 runs in the 2016 edition).
  • David Warner holds the record for the most Orange Cap victories (3).

Rules for IPL Orange Cap

  • The Orange Cap is given to the IPL season’s highest run-scorer.
  • The batter who retains the Orange Cap during the competition is permitted to wear it on the ground throughout games as long as he remains the tournament’s top scorer.
  • When two or more batters are tied on runs, the batter with the higher strike rate wins the Orange Cap.
  • In the case that an opposition batsman surpasses the current holder’s count, the prior holder is permitted to wear the Cap until the end of the innings in which another batter surpasses him.

List of all IPL Orange Cap Winners

YearWinners (Player)InningsRunsHighest ScoreAverageStrike Rate501004s6s
2008Shaun Marsh (KXIP)1161611568.44139.68515926
2009Matthew Hayden (CSK)125728952144.81506022
2010Sachin Tendulkar (MI)156188947.53132.6150863
2011Chris Gayle (RCB)1260810767.55183.13325744
2012Chris Gayle (RCB)1473312861.08160.74714659
2013Michael Hussey (CSK)177339552.35129.5608117
2014Robin Uthappa (KKR)166608344137.78507418
2015David Warner (SRH)145629143.23156.54706521
2016Virat Kohli (RCB)1697311381.08152.03748338
2017David Warner (SRH)1464112658.27141.81416326
2018Kane Williamson (SRH)177358452.5142.44806428
2019David Warner (SRH)1269210069.2143.87815721
2020KL Rahul (KXIP)14670132*55.83129.34515823
2021Ruturaj Gaikwad16635101*45.35136.26416423

Shaun Marsh was the first person to get the Orange Cap. The Australian, who played for the Punjab Kings in the opening season of the IPL, scored 616 runs. Sachin Tendulkar is the first Indian player to win the Orange Cap award in the IPL. In 2010, the famous cricketer scored 618 runs.

Chris Gayle is the only player to have received the Orange Cap award twice in a row. In the 2011 and 2012 editions of the IPL, the West Indies scored the most runs. In addition, Australian David Warner has won the Orange Cap the most times (three). Other winners include Matthew Hayden, Michael Hussey, Robin Uthappa, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul, and Kane Williamson.

Ruturaj Gaikwad of Chennai Super Kings (CSK) earned the Orange Cap award in the 2021 IPL. The right-hander scored 635 runs in the tournament, with an average of over 45 and a strike rate of 136.27.

The IPL 2022 season will begin on March 26, 2022. The IPL 2022 schedule has been released, and the reigning champions, Chennai Super Kings, will face the Kolkata Knight Riders in the championship’s first match. The IPL 2022 league stage matches will all be held in the region of Maharashtra.

Latest News