Skip to main content

Most Valuable Player Award in IPL

The Most Valuable Player award in IPL was introduced from 2013 onwards in the tournament. The award was first given out in 2008 as the “Man of the Tournament”. However, it was redesignated the MVP prize from 2013. The MVP is determined by a unique scoring system that awards points for each and every four, six, wicket, dot ball, catch, run-out, and stumping. A player receives 2.5 points for each four, 3.5 points for each six, 3.5 points for each wicket, 1 point for each dot ball, and 2.5 points for each catch or stumping.

Rajasthan Royals opener Jos Buttler has been named the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022’s most valuable player (MVP). Butler had an outstanding season with the bat. Hardik Pandya of the Gujarat Titans finished second, followed by Kolkata Knight Riders all-rounder Andre Russell and RR pacer Prasidh Krishna in third and fourth place, respectively.

Most Valuable Player in IPL 2022

1Jos Buttler17387.5
2Hardik Pandya15284.5
3Andre Russell14281
4Prasidh Krishna17273
5Liam Livingstone14265.5
6Wanindu Hasaranga16258
7Mohammed Shami16252.5
8Rashid Khan16250
9Trent Boult16245.5
10Sanju Samson17244.5





IPL Most Valuable Player : 2008-2022

2022Jos ButtlerRajasthan Royals
2021Harshal PatelRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2020Jofra ArcherRajasthan Royals
2019Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2018Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2017Ben StokesRising Pune Supergiant
2016Virat KohliRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2015Andre RussellKolkata Knight Riders
2014Glenn MaxwellPunjab Kings
2013Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals
2012Sunil NarineKolkata Knight Riders
2011Chris GayleRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2010Sachin TendulkarMumbai Indians
2009Adam GilchristDeccan Chargers
2008Shane WatsonRajasthan Royals

How are players selected for the IPL Most Valuable Player award?

Cricketers gain points for fours, sixes, wickets, catches, dot balls, and stumpings under a specific ranking system. The player receives 2.5 points for every four, with a maximum of 3.5 points. A catch or a stumping is worth 2.5 points, while a wicket is worth 3.5 points. Each dot ball delivered wins the bowler one point. The winner of this rankings receives the IPL Most Valuable Player award.

Who has won the Most Valuable Player title in the IPL the most times?

Andre Russell and Sunil Narine of the Kolkata Knight Riders have both been named the ‘Most Valuable Player in IPL’ thrice in their careers. Russell won it in 2015 and 2019, while Narine was named IPL MVP in 2012 and 2018.

Latest News