Skip to main content
Match Predictions

Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat : 17th T20 Match 2022 Prediction – Who will win?

Sydney Thunder vs Brisbane Heat 2022

17th T20 Match

Sydney Showground Stadium, Sydney, Australia

Dec 26, 2022

1:45 PM

Win Prediction

  • Sydney Thunder to win.
  • Brisbane Heat has won 10 of the 15 games played versus Sydney Thunder.
  • Sydney Thunder have lost three of their four Big Bash League 2022 games. 
  • The Brisbane Heat have only won one of their three games.

Head to Head

Total –    

Drawn –

Match Analysis

Even though the competition is still in its initial stages, teams are eager to get started and race to the top of the rankings once it ‘s too late. Currently the Sydney Thunder and the Brisbane Heat, who are both at the bottom of the standings, need to start seizing the initiative. Sydney Thunder got off to a terrific start in the competition by winning their first game. However, they have yet to win a game since then. Things do not seem bright for them with only one win in four games. In order to qualify for the playoffs, they must start winning quickly. Brisbane Heat, on the other side, won their opening game against reigning champions Adelaide Strikers. As they defeat the table leaders, they will get a significant amount of trust for the remainder of the competition. This is a must-win match for both sides, making for an exciting match.

Pitch Report

This match will take place at the Sydney Showground Stadium in Sydney, Australia and the ground has a capacity of 24,000 people. The side batting first has won three of the past four T20s played here.

Team Previews

Sydney Thunder

Sydney Thunder got off to a great start in this competition, winning their opening game. They have underperformed in the competition after then, losing their next three games. Despite the fact that it is still early in the competition, Sydney will want to start winning their next games and strive for a spot in the top four. In the last game, they batted first and scored 150 runs despite losing 5 wickets. They will be incredibly dissatisfied with the way the innings finished after a strong start. Alex Hales scored 68 from 50 balls, including six fours and three sixes. Oliver Davis, who contributed 42 runs in 30 balls, aided him greatly. The job of protecting such a little target was already daunting. Adelaide Strikers smashed the target in 18.4 overs. The bowling department got off to a strong start by taking an early wicket, but they were unable to keep the batting lineup at bay. Nathan McAndrew took two wickets and conceded 25 runs in his four overs.

Brisbane Heat

After two straight defeats, the Brisbane Heat won their last match in flair. This victory will boost them morale as they take on table-toppers Adelaide Strikers. They will try to capitalize on this confidence and go on an unbeaten run. Batting first, they scored 166 runs, mostly because of Sam Billings. Sam Billings was the innings’ hero, scoring 79 off 48 balls. This performance became even more crucial as the Heat lost two early wickets and appeared to be on their way to their third defeat. Max Bryant, who scored 46 off 29 balls, provided excellent support. The bowling attack was just brilliant, as they completely dismantled the Adelaide batting lineup. Taking four strikes in the powerplay shattered the batting lineup’s back. Mark Steketee was outstanding, taking four wickets for 34 runs in his four overs.

Probable Playing XIs

Sydney Thunder

Alex Hales, Matthew Gilkes(w), Rilee Rossouw, Oliver Davies, Daniel Sams, Alex Ross, Nathan McAndrew, Chris Green(c), Gurinder Sandhu, Brendan Doggett, Fazalhaq Farooqi

Brisbane Heat

Max Bryant, Colin Munro, Matt Renshaw, Sam Billings, Jimmy Peirson(w/c), Ross Whiteley, Michael Neser, James Bazley, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Kuhnemann

Full Squads

Sydney Thunder

Oliver Davies, Brendan Doggett, Matthew Gilkes, Chris Green, Alex Hales, Baxter Holt, Nathan McAndrew, Alex Ross, Rilee Rossouw, Daniel Sams, Jason Sangha (c), Tanveer Sangha, David Warner, David Willey (withdrawn), Fazalhaq Farooqi (replacing David Willey, contract terminated on December 23), Ben Cutting, Usman Qadir, Gurinder Sandhu, Sam Whiteman, Joel Davies

Brisbane Heat

Xavier Bartlett, James Bazley, Sam Billings, Max Bryant, Sam Hain, Sam Heazlett, Usman Khawaja, Matthew Kuhnemann, Marnus Labuschagne, Colin Munro, Michael Neser, Jimmy Peirson, Matthew Renshaw, Mark Steketee, Mitchell Swepson, Ross Whiteley, Jack Wildermuth, Spencer Johnson, Will Prestwidge, Josh Brown

Sydney Thunder Team News

  • Fazalhaq Farooqi of Afghanistan, who grabbed five wickets in his first two BBL games, has been carted away and fired from the competition 
  • Owing to an off-the-field altercation we anticipate Jason Sangha returning to this player to bring Farooqi.

Brisbane Heat Team News

  • After going three games without a win, it would be surprising if the Brisbane Heat made any adjustments to their starting lineup.
  • Both Marnus Labuschagne and Usman Khawaja are on overseas service ahead of this encounter. 

Toss Prediction

The winning team would like to bat first. Provided the track’s origins, the squad will prefer to bat first. It is ideal to use the field while it is still fresh, as it will degrade as the game progresses.

How to Bet

We are backing Sydney Thunder. If the Sydney Thunder would like to qualify for the playoffs, they must pull up their socks soon. With three straight defeats, the camp’s morale would be down, but they must rebound. The Brisbane Heat, on the other side, will be on only those high following their triumph in the previous game. They’ll want to capitalize on it and continue their winning streak. Bet on Sydney Thunder to win.

Latest News